Why all the hate?

Friends…with a name like transition offense, it was inevitable that a basketball post would raise it’s head at some point. I did not think it would be this early, but today I have to ask you all, why is there still so much hating on LeBron James?

Don’t get me wrong, if I would have had this post when LeBron made “the decision”, I would have been one of the loudest voices proclaiming how immature, ill-conceived and ridiculous that whole debacle was. But really, is there no statute of limitations? No Mulligan?

Granted, the guy screwed up…terribly! But since then what his been his crime? What exactly has he done wrong? I never hear him speak poorly about the opposition. I never hear him too boastful or proud. He always seems to say the right thing at the right time. He works his behind off.  I would not even have a problem if he were someone my son or daughter wanted to listen to or follow.

So at a time where he has played the best basketball of his career, and is on the cusp of winning his first ring (probably as the finals MVP), can we possibly just ease up on the hating…even a little bit. I am not saying that we need to love the guy, but during a time when we seem to be able to forgive sports figures for animal abuse, adultery, drunk driving and domestic violence, can’t we forgive a guy for making a poor P.R. decision when he was barely a grown up?

If i asked you what he has done that is so horrible since that mistake…what would your answer be? Mine would be “nothing”. And until or unless he does, this sports fan is giving him a clean slate.

2 thoughts on “Why all the hate?

  1. Pingback: The “Best Man” I Know | Relevant For Now

  2. Hi Drew!

    I found your blog through Neal’s – I hadn’t heard anything about you since you left CGCC, and I’m glad to hear you are doing well! Neal was right when he said you were a great youth leader. Keep up the good work!

    -Cathy Whitlock-Balseiro

Leave a Reply

